Why I’m Leaving Libraries for the Convent

Questo mi sembra un pezzo molto bello. In particolare per chi è non cattolico, non conservatore, ma sa che – alla fine dei conti – lavorare in biblioteca è questo.

Library Lost & Found

Photo of the author with her sisters from the convent Sr. Laura, myself, Sr. Tina (back), Sr. Mary, Sr. Rachel, and Sr. Stacy (front) who attended my going away party at the library and met all of my coworkers

A few months ago I wrote a note to my library contacts that went something like this: “Before word went entirely public, I wanted to pass along a message that I am leaving my position as the Associate Director at the library. While leaving a job is not unusual, the reason that I am leaving is. God willing, in August, I will be entering a Catholic religious order (The Servants of God’s Love).”

Most people responded with, “Congratulations?” To which I replied, “Thank you. Yes, that is the right answer.” One editor of this dear blog, though, responded with, “WOW! This sounds great!… Any chance you could write one more blog post about this decision?”

So, here I am, blogging one…

View original post 925 altre parole

Lascia un commento

